Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

The team

María Escudero Escribano

ICREA Professor

She is an ICREA Professor at the Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology ICN2), where she leads the NanoElectrocatalysis and Sustainable Chemistry (NanoESC) Group. She obtained her PhD in Chemistry from the Autonomous University of Madrid (2011) and carried out her postdoctoral research at the Technical University of Denmark and Stanford University.  
She started her independent career in 2017 as a Tenure-track Assistant Professor at the University of Copenhagen and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2011. She joined ICN2 as an ICREA Professor in 2022. María is passionate about combining electrochemistry, materials engineering and in situ spectroscopy and microscopy characterisation for applications in renewable energy conversion and storage. She was awarded an ERC Consolidator Grant in 2022 and has received numerous awards in recognition of her groundbreaking research. These awards include the Gold Medal of the European Young Chemist Award 2016, the Princess of Girona Scientific Research Award 2018, the Electrochemical Society Energy Technology Division Young Investigator Award 2018, the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry Young Researchers Award 2019, the Clara Immerwahr Award 2019, and the Journal of Materials Chemistry Lectureship 2021. 

Camilo Mesa Zamora

Postdoc researcher

He completed his M.Sc. in Materials at the University of Bologna and a PhD at the Imperial College London (2019), obtaining the first prize for both. Until 2023, Camilo held a postdoctoral position at the Institute of Advanced Materials (INAM–UJI), where he studied the limiting kinetic and mechanistic factors of (photo)electrocatalytic reactions via in-situ techniques. He has co-authored >35 papers including JACS and Nature Chemistry, with over 1700 citations.
He holds a senior postdoctoral position in the NanoESC Group, focusing on in-situ characterization of electrocatalysts for co-electrolysis. 

Scroll to Top